I COULDN'T POSSIBLY DO MONO MONDAY.....

…..when there are beautiful Great Tits feeding their young in our garden!  I stood in the garden this morning when it was really cold, with a chill wind whistling all round me, but I was determined to get a shot of the residents of our nesting box.  

I know it has seen better days, but the Great Tits don’t seem to mind - and we do have a couple of new ones to put up when the breeding season is over, ready for the next batch.

Last night I got some decent shots - by my standards anyway - but this morning, after having had a stiff neck last night from hand-holding the camera, decided to try and tripod again.  It’s not very strong, but it seemed to work and I put the camera on High Speed Burst and just kept my eye on the opening in the box, so here is either Mum or Dad feeding one of the babies.  We aren’t sure how many are in there, but we do know there are at least two (see extra photograph) and probably more, as they do make quite a noise when they are waiting for their food!

I had to come in after an hour because I was thoroughly chilled, but I think a long sit in our conservatory, which is now warm and sunny, is on the cards, with a lovely cup of coffee, especially as Mr. HCB has now gone to cricket for the whole day.

I know these are not the same standard as others who post on here, but I’m happy with them.  I have learned more about my camera and and I’m sure Mr. HCB will be pleased when I show them to him later.

"Use what talent you possess:
     the woods would be very silent
          if no birds sang except
               those that sang best."
Henry van Dyke

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.