The Old water pump

We used to live in Holmbridge, just a couple of miles south of Holmfirth, and possibly because of the terrain, or the fact it's a bit out of the way means there are many pumps, wells and troughs at the side of the road.  I had always assumed they were for the benefit of horses, and indeed many were, but this old water pump and trough at the bottom of Dunford Road in Holmfirth was erected by public subscription in 1850 to provide water to nearby buildings which did not have a water supply, and It was still in use during the 1920s.

My memory isn't what it was, as when I set off to choose one to blip despite having walked past many on a regular basis, I couldn't for the life of me remember where to find them  -  fortunately there are a few so I didn't have to wander far.

Thank you to  Nickimags888   for providing an interesting challenge, and for continuing to host it.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.