Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The one that got away

After a very cosy night in warm bed (with 2 hot water bottles), I was reluctant to rise and experience the "cooler" temperatures. The wooden walls provide little insulation from the elements.

We ate fish for breakfast and then went off out in the dinghy to raise the lobster pots. (This was after D and I sailed back to Huisinish to pick up my walking poles and an extra life jacket. We managed to go back to Scarp without the jacket, so D had to go again........)

This was the only lobster and is far too small to be harvested. It was put back in the sea. D risked his finger tips to let me photograph it.

We had a walk around the old village beside the house. The old black houses are still there, although no roofs remains. (I wonder why it's roofs and not rooves?)  In some of the black houses you can see where "modern" chimneys were built with a range for cooking and heating water. D and L have a similar range in their cottage. The original black houses had a central fire and the smoke went up into the thatched roofs.

In the evening we played Scrabble with Brian and Sheila from next door. At that stage, all the humans on Scarp were in the one house. I won the Scrabble - I had very good letters, although I held the Q from the first round to the end. Three of the four Us were unused at the end too. (Some tactical play going on there, I surmise.)

The extras show D and L outside the door with one of the new chickens. D had a bucket of bait (don't ask) for the lobster pots.

The other extra is Mrs Mac waiting to be fed. She gets very pushy and seems to forget she has a lamb when porridge is on the go!!

And so to a warm bed (with 2 hot water bottles again).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.