QUEEN ELIZABETH OLYMPIC PARK - STRATFORD

Another busy day.  First of all I had breakfast provided by my Airbnb host L.  She gave me white toast, tea and juice ( I could also have had cereal but didn't ) I don't normally eat white bread and I don't like tea much so L made a note to do something different tomorrow.

Becky and Mike were due to arrive at 10am so I had to cut short my conversation with L to get out in time.   We drove to Leyton first.  Its where my late husband Douglas lived as a child and Becky wanted to go there today.  We had been as a family before but Becky and Neil were only aged 8 or 9.  We went to check out Leyton Orient Football Club as Douglas was a lifelong supporter.  Last time we saw the ground Neil described it as a " dump".  Its certainly improved since then.  I have put THIS SHOT on Flickr.

We then went to a coffee shop where I had a cappuccino - and was tempted to buy a Salted Caramel Chocolate Fudge Brownie - it was delicious.  ( As you can tell I had decided not to stick to the Slimming World plan while I was away.)

Next we headed for Stratford to see the Olympic Park. Becky and Mike have been loads of times as they had tickets for some Olympic events in 2012 - but this was my first visit.  Its very impressive.  There were a lot of people about - many were wearing medals having taken part in 5k and 10k runs and there was also an Aquatic Championship going on.

My extra shot shows Becky and Mike having fun.

The weather was mostly nice but while we were at the Olympic Park it was chilly with a bit of drizzle.

Then we popped into the Westfield Shopping Centre, Stratford.  Becky and Mike had persuaded me that I needed a Smartphone - Mike said he would set it all up with apps and stuff and teach me the basics while I was in London.  So we went looking for a phone Mike had researched online.  It was out of stock - everywhere.  So we decided to look somewhere else tomorrow.

Then we headed back to Isleworth.  I went to pick up a change of clothes.  Becky and Mike waited in the car and gave me 10 mins to get in and out.  I managed to curtail my chat with L and was in and out quite quickly.  Then it was back to Becky and Mikes to watch the end of the FA Cup Final.

Later we got the bus to Twickenham as we had a table booked at The Old Goat - a pub with a Belgian restaurant.  The menu featured a lot of dishes with Moules.  Mike chose Moules, Becky had steak and I had a very delicious Belgian chicken dish with vegetables in a creamy sauce. I couldn't resist a dessert - sticky toffee pudding with clotted cream vanilla ice cream - yummy.

Bus back to Isleworth, long chat with L before bed.

Steps today - 21,712

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.