Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Blue Grosbeak

Thank you for all of the stars, hearts and comments on yesterday's pair of Western Screech owls.  I have been told that it made it as high as page two on the pop page.  That doesn't happen to me very often!

I took a ride up into the Coronado National Forest at Madera Canyon.  It was pretty quiet around the Santa Rita Lodge where one of the wildlife areas is located.  I was looking to shoot hummingbirds but all I was getting was sunburn on my toes.

One of the other two photographers spotted this Blue Grosbeak hanging around the log pile.  I hadn't planned on going up there and wasn't prepared with the appropriate equipment.  I got the best shots I could with what I had to work with.  These photos are the first of their kind for me.  I've only gotten one other kind of grosbeak, ever.

More on the Blue Grosbeak including voice

(extras show their interesting coloring. They are not solid blue.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.