Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another day, another walk

I'm determined to have all joints fit, healthy and relatively pain free before the walking holiday in Austria at the end of the month.

Today I went to Redesmouth and did a 6 mile walk through the fields and back by the river in the Countess Woods. Mum wants photos of the verges to help inspire a new piece of creative embroidery, so I fully expected to offer you a soft focus, romantic picture of stitchwort or wild garlic.

The colour palatte is limited at the moment and very beautiful. The dandelions, who ran riot last month, are at the seed head stage before their next onslaught. There is stitchwort, wild garlic, jack by the hedge, Queen Ann's Lace and pigwort. The latter is a favourite of mine; it is such a pretty, delicate plant. So that's the whites for you. (Nearly forgot that the bird cherry is amazing.)

Then there are the blues/purples of the wood violets, the blue bells (still hanging on), the ajuga and the forget-me-nots.

All this set against a range of greens of the early summer.

This is a handheld image taken in a gloomy corner at 2500 ISO, but I liked it and I thought it worked in mono and with a different crop from the usual.

Going to watch Part 3 of the Hollow Crown now. Part Two was incredibly gory and I expect this will be the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.