Clematis Nelly Moser

These New Town clematis are irresistible!

As I predicted on 20th May (when I blipped the blossom on the Meadows as an extra, relegated by the amazing Ullapool sunset), I noted on my walk to work this morning that nearly all the cherry trees are without their blooms. I think that we can safely say that it is now summer in Scotland.

My day at work comprised a series of meetings that included a couple of student supervisions, a writing mentoring session with a colleague, and a career review. It was also fun to take a break with a mix of PhD students and staff from my research centre at lunchtime, as is our Friday tradition. I also hosted an external visitor from Australia, keen to hear about our work on supporting the academic careers of women at my university. She's one of a series of people who have been in touch since I participated in an online interview with Australian colleagues on 5th May.

After work my colleague Laura and I did a spot of flat viewing, then stopped off at a bar on the way home for a quick Friday night drink. Mr hazelh had homemade pizza ready for me when I returned to base.

Quick cold update: I'm definitely getting better! Although it still took a while to get off to sleep last night, once I did I slept soundly and Mr hazelh managed a whole night in the same place together.

Exercise today: walking (13,940 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.