View from the Path

Today was not a stellar day for me. I just wasn't up for the task and really would liked to have gone off on my own or hunkered down in my study. But Saturdays and Sundays just can't be like that. Arvin is home all day and really does not do well without some structure from outside, from me actually. And today we were on our own all day.

We went shopping which Arvin likes. I like it less because it means driving around from here to there, buying stuff, spending money and then carting it all home and unpacking it and putting it away. It was all stuff we needed but still... I'd kind of like to be able to use less stuff and shop less. While we were out shopping the side piece fell off of my long distance prescription glasses. Bother!

When we got home Arvin said, "What's on the agenda now." This is a common phrase when things stop for a minute. I get a bit stroppy about it sometimes but managed not to do that today. Instead we sat on the deck but I really was not in the mood to think of something else to do. Finally i suggested we go take a walk in the park. It was actually a nice walk, in the shade on a hot day which helped. It ended not so well however as I accidentally backed into a tree as I left our parking place and broke a tail light and bashed a fender. Again bother!

In the last few days I've broken my new lens and damaged the sensor on my GH4 camera, my glasses are broken and I made a big enough ding to the car that I'll have to go and get it fixed. And I'll have to call my insurance agent for the second time in a week after literally decades of no accidents. I fear that the stress of being a caregiver is getting to me. Bother indeed.

Almost forgot to mention we ended the day watching a movie. It was "Me Before You" and was definitely a chick flick. I liked it and did a bit of tearing up at the end. Sniff! Arvin liked it too. At least one thing worked out well. Would love to say it cleared my cobwebs but nope. I was a bit grumpy when it was time to get Arvin ready for bed. Lately he wants to just hop in bed but really he can't. There is a lot to do to get him ready. I'm afraid I did get a bit stroppy and that never works. He then thinks he did something wrong and it makes him sad. It makes me feel like a rat. Sigh. Like I said, today was not my best day ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.