Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Feed me!!!

What a fun day we had! The morning spent at Fern Hill Wetlands where I saw my first-ever black-headed grosbeak and Bullocks Oriole (pictures to follow), and the afternoon at Jackson Bottoms Wetlands where this photo was taken. I also saw my first-ever yellow-headed blackbird at JB which was awesome!

Mom picked this shot. The birds are Tree Swallows, a common summer bird throughout must of the United States. They are cavity nesters and readily use nest boxes. In fact, last summer, I had a pair in one of my nest boxes. But I've never gotten a shot like this one. The male was delivering food to this very demanding nestling who was devouring insects faster than dad could deliver. There were 30 or so nest boxes around the wetlands and all of them were either occupied or being fought over. It was amazing to walk along and see box after box with so much activity.

We had an early dinner and are now chilling. It will be an early night for me since I am a bit jet lagged and woke up absurdly early this morning (still on NY time). We will be off on another adventure tomorrow - stay tuned!

Thank you for stopping by.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.