Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Ceeping The Car Cool

Ever see this before?  I haven't but it seems to work (somewhat) for me.

One of the worst part of having intense air temperatures is how brutally hot the inside of your car can get.  (I'm sure everyone has experienced that to some degree!)  I have a cover over my black steering wheel but the leather still gets so hot that I have to point and blow the air conditioning onto it before it can even be touched.  There are times that I have to use a cloth between my hand and the gear shift knob.

I try to mitigate these problems in several ways:
            1.  I use a silver windshield sun reflector;
            2.  I have a silver reflecting steering wheel cover;
            3.  I keep white hand towels in the car to cover the window/s on   the side receiving the sun. White reflects;
            4.  I put a little foam cover on the gear shift knob;
            5.  I seriously seek shade.  I would rather walk some distance to get where I'm going and get a spot in the shade than get close and be in the sun.

I got really, really lucky today.  Of the five times I had to park and leave the car, I found shade four times!

Btw, since I took this photo I have had that disgustingly dirty car washed.  I am almost embarrassed to post it!.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.