Red Headed Cardinal Beetle

I was out in the garden looking for a bee to blip - there are  loads around on our fruit bushes - but they were not being very cooperative. I moved over to the blueberry bush to have a look and this fellow landed on a leaf on front of me! Grabbed two shots before he left - the other is in extras. I chose this as the main shot as it is marginally more in focus!

In trying to identify I came across the wonderfully named 'Hogweed Bonking Beetle' which is similar to this. It gets its name from its prolific mating rituals!

I went to collect our son's dog Milo as we are looking after her whilst he has a short break in Prague. Delivered him to the train station in Leeds to begin his journey. Milo and Finlay both crashed out on the lounge floor at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.