Small steps

We got an email yesterday telling us the conservatory will be delivered on 23rd June. That got us into gear, and today Jon and Daniel did more specific measuring and began digging holes. We are getting a DIY conservatory with a metal base. That means no need for full blown footings or a dwarf wall. Just 6 (large) holes filled with the correct concrete mix, to prepare before 23rd. They got 3 holes dug and have 3 more to do - hopefully Thursday, when they also hope to concrete. Interestingly, in one hole they hit something metal. Carefully they dug and scraped around it. We don't know what it is, but it looks like the rim of a wheel - it is curved, about 2" wide and deep, and extends into the area adjacent. Although we are all intrigued, we assume it is something discarded when the houses were built. A drain rim or something similar. My patio now has holes and large piles of earth on it. But I am not complaining!

While drinking coffee from the summerhouse this morning, the cat decided to take up a vigil by a lone molehill that had appeared overnight. He sat there for hours. Face pointed to the pile of earth. Eventually losing interest he went indoors. Later when they started the patio digging, I spotted the mole running out of his hole and across the lawn. They don't like vibration. I know he is a pest, but I couldn't kill him. Jon scooped him up and threw him into the field behind our garden. It is a big field, so I'm sure he will be fine there.

Various other Sunday jobs were done. I sorted a box of car boot stuff, swapping boxes with a load of my craft stuff. The conservatory can't get here soon enough now. How have I managed to wait over a year?! It is going to change my world!! I am never going to move house again.

Cooked a roast and we all sat together to eat it. It really felt like I am getting a normal life back. That's two days running.

I can hear football on the tv downstairs so a good time for a bath I think! Monday tomorrow and the good thing is, I have the day off. The bad thing is I have a dentist appointment. But that's just 10 minutes of my day. Some sewing is planned. So I'm looking forward to it!

Lastly, a very happy 22nd birthday to Angus & huge congratulations on passing his degree with a 2:1. We are proud to have known this young man since he was born, and it scares me to think 22years have flown. Well done for making everyone so proud - and now....all our very best wishes for a fabulous future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.