Chipmunk After a Drink of Water

One of the things that I highly recommend is that if you have any critters around at all, to place a fresh, cool, clean bowl of water somewhere in the yard for them. Wash it out and refresh it daily.

Critters are especially grateful for water in the cold of winter time, when all other water sources are frozen, and in the high heat of summer. We are heading into the height of summer, and so we make sure our water bowls are full.

As I was sitting watching the hummingbirds, I got to see one little visitor - this chipmunk - run past and stop for a drink of water at the critter refreshment station. In case you're wondering, the thing to the left of the chipmunk is actually a small bird bath.

A fairy sits atop a frog or toad, and she is carrying a flower that opens into a bowl for water. I enjoy whimsical things like that in the garden, and I suspect the chipmunk did too. But I think he liked the water even more; and you can see droplets of it clinging to his face after drinking.

The song to accompany this posting is a favorite, and I know I've already used it, but it just can't be beat: The Who, with Water, from their Tanglewood performance in July of 1970.

P.S. I'm in need of some catch-up, so I'm posting two blips today. Please be sure to check them both out. The other one I posted today is Dexter napping to welcome me home.   :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.