Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mono Monday: Makes me cross

The shamal/dust continues...

Today has been a really mixed day. First off - as you can see from the picture (which again has to be credited to G), we don't exactly have a clear day. You may have noticed it in yesterday's blip, in fact, we very rarely have a good, clear day here; I mean - what do you call it? Is it sand? Is it pollution? Or what? One website calls it "widespread dust!" It makes me wonder why build a skyscraper when there really isn't a view to be had for 90% of the time. It also means a gorgeous outdoor blip is hard to come by, and that definitely makes me cross.

Back to the day... I had to drop my boss's car at her home as she had to leave early with an awful migraine. That meant I got picked up at a different location. We were contemplating stopping off for a car wash when the a/c men (yes!) called to say they had the part and can they come now? (Well, they didn't quite say it as clearly as that!)

So, home we came, and I am SO glad we did as lucky for me (and them), it was the correct part that got replaced (main PCB). My a/c now works very well and for the first time in 10 days, the temperature in my room has dropped below 27degC. :)  GK Happy!

We then went over to friends Miriam and Suguna for High Tea. It turned out to be dinner - with delicious goodies! I took along a bottle of sparkling wine which went down well. We had a fabulous time just chatting and catching up, and I had no idea it had gone past 9; so we had to leave asap.

Came home to find that despite numerous notices/reminders to the landlord's rep, he still hasn't paid the common areas utility bill resulting in no electricity and NO WATER. Argh!!! That REALLY makes me cross. I find it so inconsiderate that someone can allow an entire building to get into a situation like this.

Anyway, I tried phoning him and this time - he answered his phone and said he had just(!!) sent someone to pay the bill, and that we should have water within two hours! It was now around 10 pm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.