Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Urban 'Airport' Garden

After a very short night (more like a nap, really!) I got up at the crack of dawn for an early flight to Chicago. I'm heading to Michigan for a mini family reunion. My sister (who also lives in England) and her husband are travelling in Canada and the US and will be with the relatives for a few days. So off I go to join them as well.

I had several hours at O'Hare airport in Chicago and met my sister's flight when she and her husband landed from Vancouver. After lunch we had another wander around before our connecting flight. We walked to an area of the airport I haven't visited in years, the G concourse, and discovered this delightful urban garden right in the terminal building.

This is considered an 'aeroponic garden', the first of its kind at any airport in the world. This is a method of growing plants without soil, 'becoming increasingly popular around the world as agricultural land uses must compete with developers for limited open space'.

I'm very behind on my blips!  Am trying to catch up. Please scroll back - you may have missed some!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.