Wolfson Centre, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

I'm not normally a fan of architecture such as this building, but it was irresistible in the summer sunshine at lunchtime today.

I was over in Glasgow for iDocQ. This is the annual doctoral colloquium for research students in Information Science and other related subjects. I also blipped iDocQ on 22nd June 2015, mentioned it obliquely on 27th June 2014, blipped it on 24th June 2013, but did not mention it at all on 19th June 2012 (when I was still shy on Blipfoto!)

It was a fantastic day, superbly organised by a student committee that included a fellow blipper. My formal contribution to the colloquium was an afternoon break-out session on publishing from the PhD. I also tweeted (a lot!) I hope that I will find some time over the next few days to write a full review of the event on my blog.

It seems that these days my students can't come home from an event without scooping up a prize :-)This time the newest PhD student in our group won the single award of the day for the best 20 x 20 presentation. This is quite an achievement given that she is only one month into her studies. However, it was a well-deserved prize for a very engaging and beautifully presented account of her plans for the next three years.

Exercise today: walking (10,886 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.