Something Positive

My day started at 3.50am when i went to bed. Disillusioned by the level of 'leave' votes coming in, I decided it was time for sleep. Sadly, I woke to hear the news that the 'great' British public had voted to leave the European Union. I am not going to say any more about it. What can I say? Only that I didn't vote for it, and during my holiday in France this August, I will ensure people who have an interest, know that. Sadly, 30% of the country didn't vote, so they didn't choose to come out either. I wonder if they will regret their choice in a couple of years time.

I got up at 9, although was awake at 7. The sun was a welcome surprise on my day off, and I wandered down to my summerhouse to check on my incubator. That is when I discovered this little fella....or miss (hopefully!) hatched about 36 hours earlier than I expected. It was the lift to my spirits I needed.

After a long walk with Jon and the dogs, my hay fever hit big time. My eyes were so horrendous I couldn't open my right eye. No more dog walks for me for a while.

With Mollies help I made a shopping list, and then Mollie drove to Morrisons. We had done proper meal plans for the week, and succeeded in doing the full weeks shop for the 5 of us (so including Daniel) for £94. I was happy with that.

Home and with that put away, there was a little bit of time to sit in the garden and eat a late lunch. It was even a bit hot for us!

I've just sorted out a big plastic box with the brooder, water and food, and moved chick number one into it. The other eggs were a bit bigger so I hope for more to hatch between now and tomorrow evening. One, I noticed, has just started pipping, but I'm leaving her alone to hatch. I had forgotten how loud these tiny chicks are! Can't wait for more though.
Jon & Henry are just heading to Norwich for a district scout camp. We will see them Sunday.

In all, a very up and down day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.