At the Gym

11am on a Sunday morning. It was a toss up between a lovely long hot bubble bath reading my book and a trip to the gym.
I haven't been to the gym for months and our economy drive says use it or stop paying for it!!
So I was there at 11am pedalling away on the exercise watching the politicians on BBC News backtrack on promises they made during the Referendum campaign. I'm not sure what was raising my heart rate more - rage or exercise!!
While I was cycling and stepping and vibrating and lifting weights Mr K was at home with the Little Misses doing spellings and general knowledge homework. All without a fuss apparently. Miss E, for the record, is being wonderful at the moment. A really lovely, happy, rational, kind, thoughtful and sweet little girl. 
When I despair I need to remember she's in there!!!
We went to the strawberry farm in the afternoon to meet Mrs C and the boys. A lovely time as usual! The children played in the sandpit, bounced on bouncy castles and slides, climbed up and jumped off muddy hay bales, fell in muddy puddles and generally had fun getting filthy!
Once they'd had a play and we'd had our tea and coffee we set off to pick strawberries and gooseberries. We got quite a haul! (See extras)
I had only intended to pick a few gooseberries to make a couple of jars of jam. Trying to replicate the amazing jam I made a couple of years ago!
It turned out it was quite relaxing picking them and chatting to Mrs C while everyone else wandered up and down the lines picking even more. In the end we had tons!!
Gooseberry jam for Christmas anyone?!!
We did the same with the strawberries and then headed back for a bit more play and some more tea, coffee and hot chocolate. I resisted the scrummy looking cakes in the cafe - huge and chocolatey!! So far so good on the healthy eating front this week!
We called in at Bicester Village on the way home to get Miss E some new trainers for school. She's failed to mention that hers have got too tight until she can barely get them on! No luck at Clarks - they had none in her size, which is annoying as it means I'll have to pay full price for them online or go to Milton Keynes in the next few days to get some somewhere else. Grrrrrrrrr!!!!
Home for a quick strawberry smoothie and some sausages before bed for the Little Misses.
Spaghetti bolognese for me and Mr K watching The Monuments Men.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.