While making coffee

Got to work a bit later than usual as an 'incident' closed one lane of the approach to the Harbour Bridge from the city side shortly before I got to that point on my drive to work.The police had cleared the road before I got out of the sludgy traffic onto the bridge. Initially, I felt frustrated as I had had all the red lights on the way to the motorway. In retrospect, that meant I was at a standstill at a red light, instead of being at a standstill on the motorway.

Got to work, and started out to make coffee before sitting down with my registrar for her supervision session. Saw this out the window and took a photo. No other opportunity later in the day.

Supervision was a discussion on risk assessment. This is presented by the bureaucrats as being a generic task, when in fact risk is  a state (a risk of ....) not a thing which somehow is unchanging, can be seen and can be measured. And in our context, the single most effective intervention to reduce the occurrence of the events the risk of which we are concerned about, is good treatment. Simplistic but true.

After work, I met up with my Peer Review group over dinner for our monthly meeting. The discussion was intense and focussed on similar issues. Challenging questions which we tried to answer and support a colleague.

The hope epitomised by the rising sun is a good metaphor for both these sessions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.