Chick and conservatory update

Up a tiny bit earlier than the rest of the week, and got to work for 8.30 with loads to do, and a determination to do it!

I left at just after 5 and drove via Cromer to collect Mollie from work, before stopping at Morrisons for a couple of loaves of bread and five fishes, ok, I lied about the fishes ( and I know it was 5 loaves & 2 fish before I'm corrected...) We got home about 7.

Henry was dishing up dinner that he had prepared singled handedly, while Jon and Daniel had spent all day on the conservatory. More challenges, they said, but less swearing! They were still fixing glass in place, continuing until it was too dark to see. So there is still one panel to fit in the roof. My extra photos show the challenge! The panel needs to be cut to fit around the down pipe, which Jon has already had to take apart, and add elbows to kick it out so that the base could be fitted behind it. So you need to be a plumber as well as an expert DIYer to do this job.....luckily I have one! I can hire him out...but he doesn't come cheap!

Now the chicks. Always my priority when I get home, and look how their little feathers are developing in only 5 days! I find nature incredible. They are still very cheepy, and are quite scared of us, but they seem happy in their big bird box. Is it time to give them names? It has already been suggested that the first early hatcher last Thursday could be called Brexit or Eggsit...... but no! I like chicken names. My other 3 are Babs, Minnie and Dotty (I call them Babs, Mins and Dots usually).

I washed up then pinned & stitched Mollie's waistcoat that she wears as part of her work uniform. I thought it was fine, but she wanted it skin tight. I suppose it doesn't seem a million years ago that I was taking in my Woolworth jeans so that they were fashionably skin tight. But they always had an uncomfortable ridge down the inside seam. I had a lot to learn about sewing!

Tomorrow I need to get the place tidied after work. Mollie has one of her best friends coming tomorrow which will be nice, and there will be a houseful Saturday for Henry's birthday celebration. Looking forward to it....and really hoping we have a usable conservatory by then to help make the day one for double celebrations!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.