Resting

Mum is making progress with her recovery, but it is still very slow.  After three weeks of relative inactivity, she needs to have little bouts of doing things with good rests in-between.  And that's how I've been managing to keep going too while Mum's been so unwell.  Today we had a little afternoon outing to a garden centre at Stanway which provides wheelchairs for customers to use.  Mum was just about able to walk the short distance from the car to the entrance where they are kept.  It was lovely for her to have a look at everything on display around the store, and we stopped for a coffee and a hot chocolate in the cafe too.

As I was making dinner, I spotted our regular blackbird having a rest outside the kitchen door.  He's so threadbare and tattered that I think he must be quite old and has also been a hard-working father.  There's actually a bald patch on his back where he's lost some of his feathers, including a tail feather.  He was clearly enjoying his few moments in the sun, fanning out his wings in the warmth.

I'm going to attempt little by little to backblip all the photos that are still waiting to be uploaded for the many days during April, May and June when I wasn't able to blip at the time.  Sadly there will be some gaps where I didn't take any photos for the first time in 2 years of blipping.  I will apologise in advance for not writing any comments or replies for some time to come, while I do this catching-up and continue to care for Mum during her convalescence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.