Infra Red

My first attempt at infra red photography!  I read up on it as much as I could and then bought the Hoya R72 screw-on filter.  I wanted to give it a try although conditions were definitely not  ideal:  I have no time to go somewhere for a better landscape (this was taken from the bottom of my garden) it is too windy for long exposures and there is not enough bright sun or blue sky!!! I think I could get hooked on this type of photography - if we ever get any sun!

All the composition and focussing has to be done before the filter goes on the lens as you can't see anything after that!  I followed some instructions and even changed the Kelvin number for the white balance! The exposure was really long and meant going into Bulb mode too so that needed timing as I can only go to a 30" exposure in the usual camera control and I needed longer than this.

The processing is different too, so it's been a bit of a learning curve.  Now I must dash for a rehearsal for this evening's concert in Tring.

NB:If you want a good, compulsive crime read, try 'The Scars beneath the Soul' by Dave Sivers.  His wife sings in my choir and after a conversation with her Wednesday evening, I bought the book on Kindle - I finished it this morning!!!  Dave Sivers is a local author and this novel is set around places I know - I don't think I'll ever drive through Wendover with quite the same sense of calm and tranquility again - if you also live around here and read the novel you'll see what I mean!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.