Swallow nesting under Parkend canal bridge

I went food shopping in Gloucester and took a long way home via the River Severn, which did have a pub next to it.  The sun began shining and I was leased to be out in the fresh air blowing up the river valley. I sat on the river bank whilst I watched for and listened to a reed warbler feeding its young.  Swallows and swifts swooped and after finishing my drink I walked to the tall river wall which acts as flood prevention and spotted the swifts flying into holes in the brickwork, to feed young ones.  I tried to grab some rather unusual sideways shots of them disappearing into an apparent flat wall but they were very elusive, and my perch was rather constrained.

So I ventured homewards and stopped at the nearby Parkend swing bridge over the Sharpness to Gloucester canal, which is one of my regular bird watching haunts.  The swallows here nest under the swing bridge and enjoy when it opens as it gives them easier access to their nests beneath. I didn't have much luck with the photography but managed to snap this swallow as it left the nest for another feeding expedition. I was reminded of watching them at our hotel pool  in Kefalonia, just a few weeks ago.  So much has happened since then especially the rise in the cost of such holidays in future.  I also want to return to Sri Lanaka but that looks nearly impossible now.  Boo hoo.  I have to prepare a talk and slide show about my trip to Helena's Learners Circle next week.  Yikes, I better get busy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.