MV Isle of Arran crossing Campbeltown Loch

14.6C with one shower in the morning but otherwise good sunny spells with plenty of cloud. Light to moderate mostly Westerly breeze.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went across the park and out Low Askomill early this morning to a point I had picked yesterday as a good vantage point for a shot of the ferry. We got there a couple of minutes before the ferry's departure time of 7.35am. I took a few pictures as we walked along but the ones I took from the point I had picked to go to turned out to be the ones I liked best. So, its Ferry Friday again. We stood and watched the ferry pass the old shipyard before we came back home. Just before arriving home we met Apothecary7 walking along the road on her way to work for today's odd start time of 8am. Maeve was very puzzled when Apothecary7 kept on  walking after stopping for a quick pat.

I chose fresh Haddock fillets when I went to the fish shop today.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for a walk. Classical music on the iPod Mini. We went across the road and along to the esplanade then walked round past the marina and the two quays of the harbour. The cargo ship BBC Holland was tied up at the new quay and wind turbine sections were already on board. A different ship than the usual ones I see, BBC Holland has its own onboard cranes. I learned yesterday that the sections are for what they call towers. The factory at the airport builds these towers in sections and they are assembled on site and the top sections, turbines, and blades fixed to the top. The factory has just attracted some 27 million pounds of investment for expansion which will increase its output of towers significantly and also lead to 100 or more new jobs. Most of the towers are for onshore wind farms, but in future they will also build for offshore arrays.

We went along by the ferry terminal then followed the shore side of the park out to the grass area near the cemetery where I sat for a while and looked around and Maeve had a rest. Then we came back along the same route to get home.

The breeze had helped to almost dry off the grass in the garden, so I went down about 4pm and mowed it. I was glad of the opportunity because the forecast for the weekend is for showers.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/2125 sec. ISO-80 10mm (35mm focal length 50mm)

Extras:
1. MV Isle of Arran leaving Campbeltown loch.
2. BBC Holland at the New Quay Campbeltown.

3. Little and Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.