Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Tribute

We moved into our brand new house in May 1997 and a couple of weeks later, Glenys Morgan, moved in opposite. She lived on her own. She kept her house and garden immaculately. She was always ready for a chat and it wasn't long before she became an indespensible neighbour - taking in deliveries, looking after our house when we were away, collecting papers, washing, etc, etc! When Mrs BB and I went away alone, leaving the 'kids', she made sure there were no parties and we had a house to come back too!

About four years ago she suddenly stopped taking care of her immaculate garden and it got to the stage I sometimes cut her lawns if a relative hadn't. It slowly became apparent she was forgetful and then obvious she was suffering alzheimers. When we went away I started having to write everything down.

About three months ago, when we were on holiday, she had a fall which necessitated her going into hospital. She then suffered a stroke and didn't recognise anyone most of the time. She was having to be fed. She died on Monday 27th June, at aged 87years. Today was her funeral which we attended. She had a good sense of humour, mentioned in her eulogy, plus a very helpful, caring and giving nature to everyone which we found to be the case.  A lovely person whom it was our privilege to know.

On driving into Newport after the funeral I saw some wild poppies and flowers growing on the sliproad on junction 28 of the M4. I stopped and took some pictures. The insert of Glenys was taken on 18th April 2013, in the street outside the house. I remember it well. I was taking a picture and she came out to ask what I was doing - I said she was always up for a chat! A grabbed a snap of her before she could refuse.

Wide Angle Wednesday Challenge:

43 high class entries this week. I expected the normal reflection photo's of a lake (which I took!) and there were a few. I chose the winner as it's so very well done. I loved looking at them all, and I hope you can agree with most of my choices. In order of preference, they are:-

1.  Ninniex                   Superb cloud rflections on a wild lake
2.  Youoregon1           Shadow reflections on a painted road junction
3.  Mildlyoffensive      Tower block reflections on a river
4.  Daring2go             Shadows on a Wilderness lake
5.  Nothing2Fear        Lovely bridge shadows on water

A menton in dispatches:

a)  JanetHH                 Reflections off her kicthen cooker!
b)  Mindseye                Street window reflection

Thanks to all who entered. Sorry if I didn't choose your picture but I hope you agree with some of the one's I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.