Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Home sweet home

Inevitably I was awake early this morning, still functioning on Austrian time. I was in town to do a big food shop by 0810 and home again by 0900 for breakfast. The supermarket was very quiet at that time. Brilliant.

There were a couple of loads of washing to go through and then the usual sort of mundane jobs, like changing the cat litter (oh, joy).

This afternoon I snoozed through the women's final at Wimbledon. I must be more awake for tomorrow's men's final.

Margret was coming for dinner. At 4pm I put on the oven. At 4.20pm I put in the roasting tin with oil to heat before I added the chicken. At 4.40pm I turned the temperature down. At 5.15pm I returned to the kitchen to start the vegetables to find that the chicken was still outside the oven..............

Oh dear!

A quick change of plan. Thankfully, the chicken fitted into the pressure cooker (just) and I put it on a bed of carrots and onions. It cooked very nicely and was succulent to eat. The sauce from the veg was delicious.

I think I may still be a bit tired from the holiday..........

I saw the sunflowers in Aldi and decided they would brighten our place. Then I saw gladioli and I know Mum loves them. These colours looked great together.

Tonight, we will see if any new bats arrive inside the house. Wait for the next installment of the bat mystery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.