Animals as Natural Therapy

It is my 3000th blip today. I can hardly imagine how I ever got that many photos uploaded with comments. Good grief! I began blipping on January 10, 2010. It all happened because Pilipo had seen me on Dpreview and saw I had a camera he wanted to try out. He called and he and Connections came over to see my camera. That was the beginning of a great friendship and my introduction to Blipfoto. I tried it and very quickly I was hooked.

Here it is over six years later and I have missed three blips and added a very large number of back blips to take my journal back in time. I plan to keep adding more back blips until I no longer can find photos to post. Backblipping is on hold for the moment though.

When I started blipping I was just five years retired and spending my time happily painting and taking photographs. Things have changed somewhat and a big part of my life now is as caregiver to my sweet husband who has Alzheimer's. It means so much to be able to share this journey with friends all over the world. This is a very special community and I am so glad it survived the "Poloroid" year and is now firmly in the hands of its members. (With us out of country folk right there too.)

I had planned to post a Steller's Jay since I have posted so many of them over the years. (I put one in the extra photos anyhow.) But meeting this lovely lady and her compatriots at the Farmer's Market this afternoon changed my plans. We had a delightful time meeting the people and the animals they share with folks in many places, including the memory care facility where Arvin is going for respite while I am at art camp. So of course I had to take lots of pictures. This is an armful of rabbit and rooster, both animals trained to be calm while people hold and caress them. There were also miniature horses there and the kids loved petting them.

Thanks to all who visit my journal and leave comments, stars and hearts, in spite of the fact that I just don't get much commenting time these days. I really appreciate your visits. And I am here to stay, so if you keep stopping by I will be delighted. And I will do my best to drop by your journals as well. 

Here is a link to Animals as Natural Therapy here in Bellingham, WA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.