Fun For Everyone!

Today I decided to have a full English breakfast, as you do, because I was on holiday and it was on offer. I wished I hadn't, as having two quite heavy meals consecutively made me feel (and be!) quite sick!

The weather too seemed to be having an off-day, despite the forecast being promising. No-one, it seemed, had bothered to inform the huge rainclouds that they were meant to be off duty today! 

We should have been joined by two more today, but only one - Helen - made it. The other lady, Teresa's mum had been taken ill. 

There had been issues with the guest house having no record of Teresa's booking, despite the person who booked it remembering the telephone conversation in detail. There were no free rooms so two of our party said they would share a room to free one for Teresa. When it became apparent she wasn't going to make it, they thought they could go back to having a room each but the guest-house had let it out again before they could tell them. That was really bad as it meant they got money for that room twice - they didn't give any back as they said it was a "no show", even though it had been our room initially anyway! We decided that was really cheeky on their behalf and lost them points in our estimation!

We got properly soaked walking down to the amusement park, telling ourselves and eachother that it was just a shower and would stop in a minute or two. It didn't! The company was as good as ever and it certainly didn't dampen our spirits. We went to a cafe to dry off and wait for the rain to finally stop.

Once it had we went to the amusements and had a go on a great old fashioned wooden roller coaster and also the dodgems!

I took this photo as it summed up the mood of the amusement park in the rain. I daresay these two old guys were enjoying their derby though!

We walked back to the hotel via a stop off for an ice cream sundae and a drink in a bar (Yes I was feeling back to normal by this point!)

After a disco nap and a freshen-up we went out for evening meal and more walking and chatting while we looked for an eating place!

Eventually we wound up at a lovely Greek restaurant. I had beef stifada with rice and it was absolutely delicious - washed down with an amazing wine! The meal was a new one for me, but it was sooo good! I am going to find a recipe and attempt to recreate it when I have chance!

Lots later we called it a night and headed to bed!

I slept well as ever, but I'd have slept better if it weren't for the seagulls! They are such noisy little devils and I don't think they ever sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.