An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Reunion...

Backblip

Today was all about seeing a friend and ex-work colleague who emigrated to Australia seven years ago, and who we haven't seen since.

Shona taught at the school Alan attended from age 7 months to age six and he'd only seen her a couple of times in the intervening years (I saw her more regularly as I worked in the same place as her for 13 years, long after Alan left :-)  

Today's get together was very last minute and organised within 48 hours as we tried to get a few people together.  Sadly not everyone could make it. That aside, it was really lovely to see Shona (and the others who came along) and spend a leisurely lunch chatting, reminiscing and hearing about her life down under.

When she went to speak to Alan he just stared at her very intently for a few seconds (you could actually see his brain working behind his eyes trying to place her) and then he remembered.  Oh my, what a reaction she got.  He was very pleased to see her.

It's our next Progress meeting with the builder, architect and surveyor tomorrow, only the surveyor is on holiday and David has to be in work.  Just me, the builder and the architect then.  Should be interesting.  Hope I don't inadvertently agree to anything that pushes up the budget costs.  Not sure I can be trusted.

Before I go to bed , I always have a quick look at the BBC news website.  I was just about to click on it when my phone buzzed with a text from  David's sister Ele saying "Just to say that we are all ok - incident in Nice - on news channel".  Ele and Kenny are currently on holiday in Nice with our friends Alan and Gail. 

I immediately checked the BBC website and was utterly shocked to see what was unfolding.  I am so glad I got her text before I heard the news.  Went to bed shocked but thankful they are ok.  So many families won't have that comfort.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.