WHAT A START TO THE DAY!

I was intending to do the next one in my Street Challenge, but today’s Blip was handed to me on a plate - and literally in one case!

Mr. HCB suggested that although he was going to cricket again today, I should go up to The Old Bank, our usual coffee place on a Saturday morning and said perhaps I might like to have some toast for my breakfast.  When he dropped me off in Wood Street, he pulled up behind this lovely car, a McLaren, and then proceeded to sit and drool over it, saying it would have cost about £250,000 and waxing lyrical about it. Not being very “car minded” I have to say it didn’t do a lot for me - it was just a silvery grey car, but plenty of people were stopping and looking or should I say, gazing longingly, at the car.

Rather than just toast, I decided to treat myself to Eggs Benedict and I have to say they were absolutely perfect.  I have to hand it to Darren, the Chef at The Old Bank, not only for the great breakfast, with the yolks of my poached eggs just the right softness on top of bacon, both sitting on a muffin, but he deserves a Gold Star for the presentation, as you can see, and I enjoyed every mouthful.  I really need to find out from Darren how to cook such wonderful poached eggs.  Good to see my friend, Faz, back too because no-one makes coffee quite like he does!

Such a shame that Mr. HCB wasn’t there too, but no doubt he is having a wonderful time in Cheltenham and I hope his team wins.  He did say he wouldn’t be going tomorrow, so no doubt we will do something together, unless of course, he needs to do some gardening - but as we all know, I am in third position at the moment - cricket (1), garden (2) and me (3).

Cooking is like painting 
     or writing a song. 
Just as there are only 
     so many notes or colors, 
          there are only so many flavors - 
               it's how you combine them 
                    that sets you apart. 
Wolfgang Puck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.