THE HANDS OF A GODLY AND HUMBLE MAN

I always enjoy hearing Derek when he preaches at Church and today was no exception.  Our service starts at 10.30 and at 10.25 he wasn’t there, so Rachel, who was leading the service, asked if I had his number so that she could call him.  However, before I had a chance to call, we heard the buzzer from the outside door, so said we would just wait and see if it was him.

When Derek walked through the door into the hall, we all clapped and I told him that we were just about to draw lots to see who was going to preach if he didn’t arrive!

He told us that he had been quite poorly during the week and wasn’t sure if he was going to make it this morning, but we are so glad he did.  I did ask if he would like a chair so that he could sit when it was time for him too preach and he said that might be a good idea.

Before the sermon, we had our 1 Minute Testimonies;  Frank said he and several others had been leading an Alpha Course for adults with learning disabilities and they had been encouraged to learn a Bible verse each week - so he encouraged us to do the same - better sort mine out for this week!

I was asked to do the reading from John 13, the story of Jesus washing his disciples’ feet and then Derek preached about serving others, and told us how Jesus did that all through his life.  Derek passed his 4 score years almost 5 years ago, but he still preaches a very good sermon.  I suppose because he was sitting down, I noticed Derek’s hands, and as I featured Susan’s feet last week, thought that today I would show you Derek’s hands.  

After the service, I “served” Derek with a cup of coffee (and a chocolate biscuit, but don’t tell his wife!) and then sat and chatted with him.  I can understand why, in years gone by, people “sat at the feet” of learned men and listened to them.  Thank you, Derek, for making the effort to come to church this morning, we were all blessed and we pray you will soon feel much better.

During the holiday season, we are being encouraged to read the book of Psalms and to think of ways to express ourselves through that book - here are two verses that mention hands, which is appropriate for today.

You, Lord, are all I have,
     and you give me all I need;
          my future is in your hands.
Psalm 16:5 (GNB)

I have set the LORD continually before me; 
     because He is at my right hand, 
          I will not be shaken.
Psalm 16:8 (NIV)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.