MONO MONDAY - LINES

As I walked downstairs this morning, I saw the shadow of the net curtain that is on our landing window, projected onto the wall and because I was wondering what I could use for the challenge for Mono Monday, Lines, I immediately thought this might make a good shot.

I wasn’t entirely happy with just the shadow, so went back upstairs and walked down again and again and then just sat on the stairs to contemplate - not something I do very often - sit on the stairs I mean - and when he saw me sitting there, Mr. HCB was a bit concerned and thought I had slipped!

When I told him what I was doing, he just shook his head and walked off - as only he can!

I have a friend coming for coffee soon, so decided I would whizz the cleaner around, not that she would be bothered if I hadn’t, but visitors always make one want to tidy up, don’t they?

Whilst I was doing that I was thinking of some verses from Psalm 16 : 5-6 that say:

“The Lord is the portion of mine inheritance 
     and of my cup: 
          thou maintainest my lot.
The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; 
     yea, I have a goodly heritage.”   

I am so grateful to one of my Sunday School teachers, Mary Pryor, who encouraged us to learn scripture when we were young - from the King James version - because that was the only version we had back then, but I can still remember many of the verses, although not always “where they live” as Derek put it yesterday, so I am grateful for the internet that enables me to check that.

In a more modern version that I often use, the Contemporary English, the same verses are translated as:

“You, Lord, are all I want!
    You are my choice,
         and you keep me safe.
You make my life pleasant,
     and my future is bright.”

I wonder if that was the basis for the Orange advertisement?

Thankfully though, my life now and my future doesn’t depend on an ad campaign, but on a God who loves and cares for me and my future.  I think I might learn these verses from the CEV this week.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.