SPICY FOOD ON A HOT DAY!

Don’t know what hit me last night, but I was in bed before 9.30 and slept the clock round - well when you’re retired, you can, so I did!

Mr. HCB told me he had been out in the garden watering all the veggies by 6.00 a.m. so by the time I had been in the shower at 9.30 he was finished!  We needed to go shopping, so decided we would go this morning.

We are hoping to visit our younger son in Vietnam next year - to celebrate our Golden Wedding - I’m sure there will be plenty of opportunities over there for Mr. HCB to buy me something in the required colour - but thought we should get used to the sort of food they eat, especially now we have so many lovely vegetables in the garden.

We found some chicken thighs at a reduced price and it seemed a good opportunity to buy noodles, coconut milk and other delicious things to experiment - not that I expect to be doing much cooking whilst I am there, you understand!

Had a chat with our son on FB earlier today, so I might even be getting a bit excited after not seeing him for 6 years - actually, it will be almost 7 years by the time we go. 

It is very hot and muggy today, and it would be good to have that thunderstorm the weathermen keep promising, to clear the air.

Better go and decide what spices I need to put in with those thighs to make them taste good - trouble is, I never keep a note of what I use, so can never replicate the recipe - but I guess that makes it more exciting each time!

“Spices are like colors: 
     if you mix them all together 
          you get a taste that is akin to the colors 
               black, dark brown, or grey. 
But if you mix spices judiciously and sparingly - 
     as you would mix yellow and blue to make green - 
          you get a wholly unexpected 
               and beautiful flavor.” 
Clifford Cohen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.