CHATTING AND BEE WATCHING

I have been thinking for sometime that perhaps Mr. HCB had “over-stretched” himself by planting too much this year, but didn’t want him to feel I was criticising his judgement.

However, this morning, when we went out to a garden centre, we sat having a cup of coffee and whilst looking at our local newspaper, and talking about the price of houses etc, I asked whether he thought the garden was getting too much for him and if so, what did he think we should do.  He thought for a moment and then said that he felt he had been too ambitious after buying lots of seeds last year, because he had felt overwhelmed when he realised he had over fifty trays of plants to put out in the garden.  

We then had a good chat about what we should do in the garden and came to the conclusion that we need to get more shrubs that don’t need so much attention and then he could concentrate on the vegetables and the greenhouse.

Mr. HCB also pointed out that because I can’t do as much in the garden, that means he has to do more with the flower borders but if that were easier, he would feel happier.  I’m so pleased we have now had this chat and hopefully, he won’t feel as stressed.  I told him how grateful I was to have all the vegetables he grows and I hope that we can go on living in our house and enjoy the garden now that the pressure is off.  

After our chat, we walked round looking at plants and trying to decide what we could buy that would be less work for us both.  We saw lots of bees around the flowers and then I saw this little white bottomed bee on a flower, which I believe may be a Monarda - doing what it does best - and don’t we all function better when we do what we are good at?  I was very pleased at how well it came out just using my iPhone camera and I used the Photoscape X app on my Macbook for the frame.

“If the bee disappeared 
     off the face of the earth,
          man would only have
               four years left to live.”
Albert Einstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.