BEAUTY ALL AROUND

I am very fond of poppy seed heads and these particular ones are in a raised bed where Mr. HCB had planted lettuce.  Of course, when he saw that the poppies were coming up in between the lettuce, he could have pulled them out, but he didn’t and we have enjoyed their beautiful deep pink colour and watching them wave in the breeze.

However, they have now “gone over” and the seed heads are forming, so out into the garden I went (fully dressed in case you are wondering if I was wearing my pink robe!) and took lots of photographs.  I couldn’t decide whether to do a collage though, because the grass was covered with tiny spider webs - but thought that this poppy seed head was beautiful enough to be on its own.  

I have put one of the delicate webs in as an extra - and you will see that it is not only grass, but also clover and pretty little purple flowers that seem to have appeared this year all over our beautifully manicured lawn.

I ended up wandering all round the garden, quite slowly in fact, taking photographs and marvelling at the beauty in such a small space but which we often miss because we are so anxious to move on to our next experience.

Now back to reality and more decluttering - I think probably being indoors today will be preferable to being outside if it gets as hot as predicted later.  Mr. HCB has gone off to cricket once again, so hope he and his cricket buddy have a good day.  His parting shot to me was that he was definitely going to find some shade!

“The artist is a receptacle 
     for emotions that come 
          from all over the place: 
from the sky, 
     from the earth, 
          from a scrap of paper, 
               from a passing shape, 
from a spider's web. ”
Pablo Picasso

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.