"ANY OLD RAGS AND BONES?"

I remember when I was very young, the rag-and-bone man used to come round with his horse and cart, collecting any old rags and bones.  I also remember being told, if I was naughty, that I would be given to the rag-and-bone man when he next came round - it's a wonder I'm still here and as sensible and balanced as I am - although some may doubt I am either of those!   

These memories came back to me today when this truck came round, with the older man using a microphone with a speaker attached shouting out “Any old iron?" and using a klaxon to make people look out to see who was shouting.

Out of interest, I Googled what a rag-and-bone man was and found this out:

A rag-and-bone man (or "bag board" or totter) collects unwanted household items and sells them to merchants. Traditionally this was a task performed on foot, with the scavenged materials (which included rags, bones and various metals) kept in a small bag slung over the shoulder. Some rag-and-bone men used a cart, sometimes pulled by horse or pony.

In the 19th century, rag-and-bone men typically lived in extreme poverty, surviving on the proceeds of what they collected each day.  Conditions improved following the Second World War, but the trade declined during the latter half of the 20th century. In the last ten years, however, due in part to the soaring price of scrap metal, rag-and-bone men can once again be seen at work in many Third World (as well as some First World) countries.  

When did you last see a rag-and-bone man in your area?

These two men stopped their truck just at the top of our drive, so I decided I would go out and take a photograph - and then had a conversation with them.  The younger one said that he thought I was a “moaner” because lot of people moaned at them - but I assured them that I was just after a photograph, and they seemed quite happy with that.

I told them that according to my mother, my great grandfather was a rag and bone man in London, and his occupation in 1913, on my great grandmother’s death certificate, was given as a firewood dealer.  However, on his death certificate, his occupation was given as a scrap dealer.  I asked them what they were known as today and they both confirmed they liked to be known as scrap dealers. 

Both our next door neighbours brought out some old iron and aluminium, which was thrown into the back of the truck and off they went - but I didn’t see any money changing hands.  Unfortunately, Mr. HCB wasn’t here to give them any of his rubbish scrap metal, so he will have to take it to the tip himself.

We still haven’t had any of the promised rain, but the sky is looking quite dark in places - so I am hopeful that we will have some later.

"An enterprising person is one 
     who comes across a pile of scrap metal 
          and sees the making of a wonderful sculpture. 
An enterprising person is one 
     who drives through an old decrepit part of town 
          and sees a new housing development. 
An enterprising person is one 
     who sees opportunity 
          in all areas of life.
Jim Rohn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.