SILLY SATURDAY - LET'S GO FLY A KITE!

When I go out in the morning, I am never sure whether I will find something for that day’s challenge and today was no exception.

We met various people up at Jack’s - our son, Martyn, and friends, Amy, Marie and Margaret, but there was no way they would fit a Silly Saturday challenge!  We had been discussing the fact that the weather wasn’t that brilliant for the Royal International Air Tattoo, which takes place annually at RAF Fairford, which is quite near us, and our son, Martyn, who flies himself, said that the cloud would probably be too low for any high level air displays.

After some good conversations, we all went our separate ways and I just thought that a silly photograph was now out of the question - how wrong can you be?

As we drove down Marlborough Road, Mr. HCB noticed that there were some kites flying above the Polo Ground, so we stopped and I went down to see what was happening.  There is a funfair on part of the ground, but on the other side are these large and wonderful inflatable kites.  

The funfair had just opened at 12 noon, so I wandered down to where there was a camper van parked, and to which several of the kites appeared to be anchored.  There was a barrier around the display area, so I called to the lady sitting inside the van and a man, who I found out later, was the owner, came across to speak to me.

His name was Andrew and he told me that he had come down from Scotland to be here this weekend.  I explained to him about Blip and told him that I was looking for a photograph for today and this seemed to fit the bill, although I quickly pointed out that I didn’t think that his kites were “silly”!  He said that he went all over the country and in fact, to many different places all over the world, with his professional kite display to bring more people in and today it was to encourage more people to the funfair.  You can read more about Andrew and his kites here.

I mentioned that this very windy weather and low cloud wasn’t good for the Fairford Air Tattoo, but was obviously good for his kites.  He agreed and said that last weekend when it had been so “still” it wasn’t that good, but he was happy with the wind this weekend.  He even invited me “under the barrier” to try and press down on the wire all the kites were attached to - but the wind tugging them was far too strong for me to make any impression!

I stood there taking photographs for a while - a little annoyed that I only had my iPhone with me rather than my bigger camera - and there was something quite therapeutic about watching the kites going up and down - it was just a shame that the sky was so grey, but I am very grateful to Andrew (see the photograph in as an extra) for giving me so much information and providing my Blip for today.

These wonderful kites reminded me of this poem, which is so true:

“Children Are Like Kites…..
You spend years 
     trying to get them off the ground.
You run with them 
     until you are both breathless. 
They crash…..
     they hit the roof…..
          you patch, comfort and assure them 
               that someday they will fly.
Finally, they are airborne.
They need more string, 
     and you keep letting it out.
They tug, and with each twist of the twine, 
     there is sadness that goes with joy.
The kite becomes more distant, 
     and you know it won't be long 
          before that beautiful creature 
               will snap the lifeline that binds you together 
                    and will soar as meant to soar…..
                         free and alone.
Only then do you know that you have done your job.”

Erma Bombeck

P.S.  Apologies for not responding yesterday - but thank you for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts for my nasturtium flower - we were watching The First Night of the Proms on TV which took over our evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.