Flop Antler Buck

I've seen this fellow in the neighborhood before. I thought he was missing one antler but instead it is just an unusual shape, kind of flopping down next to his face. How odd. He joins a host of other animals in our neighborhood who have something unusual about them. There's Peg, the one legged seagull. He had a second leg but it got broken, snapped like a twig. The bottom part fell off. Peg healed and now he is one of the birds who takes advantage of the food on our deck. Also his wife who has two legs. I've seen a tailless raccoon who I called "Stubby" and a tailless squirrel with no name yet. And then there are the limping crow and the limping dove. I think that's about it.

When we spotted this buck, he was with a doe and a very small spotted fawn. We were driving home so when we got there, I grabbed my camera and headed back to where we had seen them. The buck was still there but the doe and fawn were gone. Oh well.

We had a good day today starting with a lie in and then a visit to the Farmer's Market where we met Helena. In the afternoon we went to the movies to see The Secret Life of Pets. We all enjoyed it. We came home then and Helena and Arvin had short naps while I fiddled on a revision I'm doing of a book of my paintings. Then we had dinner, salmon, peas and mushrooms and cornbread. And of course ice cream for desert with one of the cookies we got from Raven Breads at the market crumbled up on the bottom of the dish. Oh yum!

Then Arvin and I watched a movie called Lovely, Still on Amazon Prime. Reading the description I thought it was a romance of an older fellow and gal. It was a good movie but that is not quite the story. I won't be a spoiler and tell you what was really going on. But at the end Arvin and I both got it and I was a bit concerned but he said he thought it was a very good movie.

So I want you all to know that I am appalled at all of the violence that is happening now. It is scary and disheartening and also unfathomable to me. Hearing much of the news is hard when I've got so much already going on in my life, so I don't watch the news. And all I read is our local paper. So if something really horrible happens and I just type away my blip, please know that it isn't because I'm callous. It's just that I haven't heard about it yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.