West Runton to Cromer

I see Mollie has already beaten me on Facebook with a photo of our evening stroll. We decided that after such a hot day, an evening walk along the beach, once all the holiday makers and day trippers had gone home, would be a lovely end to the day.

So the day in brief. Jon and Henry joined a new archery club in Cromer this morning, so they went and fired a few arrows from 9.30 to 11. I'm already struggling to remember what I did! Sorted the airing cupboard, drank tea and started to get the eglu ready for the chicks, as the boys had put the run together yesterday. When Jon got back, he finished that, and the chicks were introduced to grass, fresh air and space. They loved it!!! It was lovely to watch them trying to fly up and down the run.

I remember. I dusted my bedroom. It took ages, and I do it at least twice a year. I had clearly blocked that most hated of jobs from my mind.

In the afternoon we had a visit from Claire, Alasdair, Ellie and Scott. They enjoyed a cup of tea in the garden, and admired the conservatory. It was lovely to see some familiar friendly faces!

I cooked roast beef for dinner. Jon did the shopping Friday, and I have to confess when he said 'I've bought a joint of beef for Sunday dinner' my heart sank. He said I have cooked beef before, whereas I generalise and say I haven't. Well. I have cooked it twice before, that I can remember. So on average during our marriage, I cook beef about once every 9 years. It's closer to not cooking it, than cooking it, in my book. Anyway, it wasn't too bad. In fact I think they liked it. I did make yorkshires! At £8.79 for the joint, it will probably be 2025 before I cook it again. I will be shopping next week. I'll probably buy chicken...

After dinner we drove down to East Runton. It's like West Runton where we normally go, just a bit further East! On the drive through, Jon pointed out the chimneys, in the very distance, that belong to John Hurt's house! We parked at the beach top and walked down, then all the way along the beach to Cromer. There, we went up the slope to the road, and returned via the road and other footpaths. A really lovely hour and a half's stroll. I was the only one who paddled as I was wearing my crocs. The beach was fairly empty, apart from this man settling down to do some fishing. I liked the colours in this photo. More like a 1970s polaroid! It felt like we were on holiday. Jon is thinking it would be a nice way to spend the odd evening, and we both thought it was the perfect place for an evening bbq and a few beers. The tide was going out, but hadn't come up that high. It is the first time since we have been living up here, that we've done that, and everyone enjoyed the walk. Even without catching any Pokemon because there was no signal on the beach! We will be returning. Just 6 or 7 minutes in the car...why not!

Home at 9 I managed to lure the chicks into the eglu then closed the door. Hopefully they will be warm huddled together, and sleep tonight. Now sorting out for the new week, where Henry has 3 days of trips. Banham Zoo tomorrow, then Norwich CastleTuesday and Pleasurewood Hills Wednesday. I'm sure school wasn't this full of fun when I was a kid!

Extra photo, I just liked it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.