Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

1,825 Consecutive Little Moments...

Today marks five years that I have taken photos...every single day.  Some days, it's been as simple as an iPhone quickie while on other days it's involved a lot more gear.  

I really agonized over what to blip today - what would, for me, mark this day?  I thought long and hard about blipping a bug of some sort because part of what's happened in the last 5 years is that I've become quite interested in insects of all kinds.  And I've also developed quite a passion for macro photography.  

But then, I thought back to when Hubs convinced me to buy my first digital camera - it was a year after my brain surgery and I wasn't recovering quite the way I'd hoped.  In short, I was feeling a bit lost and off kilter.  I took my brand new Nikon D90 out on our patio and one of the very first things I aimed it at was hummingbirds.  And, oh my, those first photos were horrid.  But I got better, and along the way I learned so much about hummingbirds, about photography, and about myself. 

I'm not sure how many times I've blipped hummingbirds - definitely a lot.  My first one was July 25 2011 not long after I joined this wonderful community.  
Then, to celebrate my first year, I blipped P-Hummie, in all his glory, and apparently again on my two year celebration!  Hmm, are we sensing a trend here?  Year three saw an ovipositing robber fly but P-Hummie made another appearance on Year Four (this one is actually one of my personal favorites). So it seems that I have a fairly long history of having P-Hummie help me celebrate Blip milestones.

What to say about this journey?  It's been wonderful!  I've learned so much - not just about photography and myself, but also about the world around me.  I've been dazzled by your images, moved to tears and laughter by your words.  I've had the great pleasure of meeting some of you in person and many more of you in the virtual world.  

So here's what I'm thinking - let's keep doing this for at least another five years,  okay?

If you'd like to see the runner-up shots for today click here for three shots on Flickr - all insects (no spiders, although I was tempted...)

Thanks for stopping by!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.