What St. Francis saw...

Dear Diary,

Oh my goodness!  In just one week while I was gone the garden has burst into rubeckia madness!  I really have to make note to remove some of them next spring.  They have created a sea of yellow, which is not a bad thing of course but a little contrast would be nice.  The yellow day lilies are abundant as well adding to the garden's golden glow.

The weeds, especially in the paths, have been blossoming too while I was gone.  If we get the promised cooler weather today I will be out pulling them later on but first I have to bring my dear Emerson to the vet.  I had noticed before I went that one of his eyes has a bit of a cloudy look in a certain light.  I fear it is the beginning of cataracts.  I really don't know how old he is as he showed up at the door many years ago fully grown.  Our best guess is 12.

It is so hard to see our beloved pets age.  We want to stop it...keep them young and healthy forever.  Of course, this isn't possible so we just have to do whatever we can to keep them comfortable and happy for as long as we can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.