An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

An Apple a Day...

David says I am the only person he knows who can go to bed absolutely fine, have a restful night's sleep and wake up in pain.

Today's latest ache is the lower left hand side of my back.  There was no pain there when I fell asleep but when I woke up - niggle-niggle-niggle - there it was.  

I have taken painkillers, I'm trying to ignore it and not dwelling on how the last time I had an achy back it escalated quickly into agony.   No not dwelling on that at all.  Move on please.   Nothing to see here.

In other news.....there is no other news.   

Well actually that's not strictly true.  

In an effort to count my blessings it gives me great pleasure to say that not only has Alan recovered remarkably quickly from his gastrostomy, he is positively on top of the world!  

Given that this time last year he was in the middle of the most horrendous flare up of his ulcerative colitis, not eating, suffering with oral thrush and reflux and about to start an 8 week course of steroids, we have a lot to be thankful for this year.  

His appetite and energy levels are good.  He is scoffing all his meals and packets of giant chocolate buttons like there's no tomorrow.  I would even say he's enjoying the additional feeds he has down his tube (2 bottles of special milk plus water) as he's less hungry between meals now.  

The best bit is he is happy for his support workers to give him the tube feeds, which is a huge step forward as those of you who know us well, knows he refuses to eat any food orally (apart from choc buttons) for anyone other than David and me.    Another step towards greater independence.  

I am a happy mum  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.