Fawsley Hall

Nanny arrived first thing this morning to look after the Little Misses so Mr K and I could head off for our long-awaited weekend at Fawsley Hall. 
It was a Christmas present to me from Mr K but we've had to re-arrange it a couple of times. 
Mrs G arrived earlier than we were expecting and was treated to the sight of Mr K hoovering in just his pyjama bottoms!
It could have been worse - I was wandering around with no clothes on before getting in the shower!!!
The hotel is only about half an hour from our house. Well I say that, pedantic Mr K would point out it's actually forty five minutes but I just ignore him!!
We had treatments booked in the spa just after we arrived - a full body massage each. It was funny seeing Mr K in his robes and slippers filling out a form about his skincare regime!
My massage was lovely. I was like a space cadet when I came out, stumbling to the relaxation room with my sorbet!
After a little lie down we headed to the main hotel for lunch. A sandwich and a Mojito for me, a giant burger and a French Relation (cognac and amaretto) for Mr K. Delicious. All eaten and drunk in the beautiful cloister type courtyard in the sunshine.
We eventually dragged ourselves back to the spa and into the lovely garden to lounge on loungers for the next few hours. It was blissful lying in the sun, reading magazines, watching the swallows darting about. We may have nodded off!!
The thought of more cocktails before dinner lured us back to the courtyard. Mr K had a mojito this time and I thought I'd be sensible and have a San Miguel. It was the biggest beer glass I have ever seen!! By the time I finished it I was very pleasantly giggly! And in need of a lie down!!!
Dinner was delicious - I had potted shrimp and crab followed by amazing lamb with dauphinoise potatoes, crispy kale and wild garlic. Mr K had venison and goose liver terrine and the lamb. Wonderful!!
In a most unusual departure from the norm neither of us had pudding. Normally, despite being full, I can always find room for a little something. But there was nothing that leapt out at me on the menu and I really did feel as if I was about to collapse so I decided to give it a miss. Mr K - even more unusually - felt the same.
We had our tea and coffee in the beautiful tudor hall and, when we could put it off no longer, braved the four flights of stairs to our room. The first two flights were OK but I may have ended up on all fours for the last bit!!!!! 
We collapsed into our giant comfy bed, watched the fantastic Mr Robot on the iPad and then passed out.
What a lovely day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.