Mare's Tails and Mackerel Scales

Dear Diary,

I love watching clouds and these Cirrus uncinus were very appealing.  Old-time farmers looked to the sky for predictions of the weather but things have changed now.  Climate change has altered the meaning of these clouds.  The old saying was: "Mare's tails and mackerel scales make lofty ships to carry low sails."  That meant rain was on its way.  Now it is more likely to indicate heat and less rain.

Our heat wave continues today but we did get another wicked thunderstorm last night that briefly dumped some rain.  I thought about my grandfather while I was looking at these clouds.  He was a farmer and he knew the signs to look for.  Then, there was always the Farmer's Almanac to consult...mainly for the moon phases which dictated when you planted crops.  I still keep one in the bathroom for a little light reading.

Last night, on the opening day of the Democratic National convention, it was hard to tell which way the wind was blowing at the beginning but at the end of the evening, after some wonderful speeches that contrasted so dramatically with last weeks RNC,  I felt the tide had turned.  It was great to feel the positive, uplifting message last night and it made me feel quite proud to be democrat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.