Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Look into my eyes

Today was rather full of appointments.

I started the day with a routine eye test. That was all straightforward. I liked the new equipment which meant I did not have to wear those ridiculous specs and have the lenses popped in and out. It's all done in one machine while the optician presses buttons instead!

There was insufficient time to chose frames, although I've seen one or two I like. I think its time for a change. The dispensing optician also talked to me about trying contact lenses again, possibly the daily sort, so that I could wear them when walking or doing photography. I might well have a trial run of those.

Then, just in time, to the hairdresser's for a cut. My current hairdresser is putting her house on the market this week and is very excited. She thinks they will sell it very quickly, so I hope she is right.

I made a quick dash around a crowded Aldi for more fruit and veg. It's amazing how much we eat, just the two of us (well really, it's mainly me).

Back home for rapid lunch then drive to Stanley Health Centre for Mum's eye appointment. The consultant was late arriving so we went in about an hour late. When the staff are all so nice and helpful, the wait doesn't seem an issue. What is a problem is that Mum's double vision is worse, so she has another referral, this time to a mobility consultant who will advise as to whether surgery is necessary. That was not what we expected to hear.

Coming out of Stanley I lost my sense of direction and went the wrong way. We had a  delightful leafy detour, but ended up on the Western bypass in a traffic jam, when we intended to return home via Castleside and the A 68. It was a long 30 miles home.

Phew. I'm tired tonight.

Mum probably won't like tonight's image, but it's all I took today. She is having her eyes scanned which involved looking in one direction and not blinking for what seemed like forever. The scan was OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.