carliewired

By carliewired

Yellow Roses

A gift is given
to warm the heart and be a 
tribute - don't forget!

~carliewired

I was married to a wonderful guy for over 30 years. We built a life together - made a home with two kids, travelled, worked our own careers, laughed and cried together.....but he never brought me flowers. Not even once. 

We were never short of money. He saw me buy flowers for others in my life - a friend, my Mother, someone sick in hospital. Somehow, it never occurred to him that he should buy me flowers. It is one of the many things in this life that I will never understand. 

My own Mother would say "I want my flowers while I am still alive. Don't bother with them when I'm dead." And so I did. I made sure that she got a floral tribute on her birthday. 

Nowadays, I buy flowers for myself whenever the mood strikes me. Or I buy flowers for other people who also appreciate beautiful things. Nothing says "I love you" like a bouquet of flowers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.