carliewired

By carliewired

Along the River

Along the river
the light rises and changes,
splendid colours blend

~ carliewired

I was awake before 5 this morning. I pushed the garbage bin out to the curb, the first on the cul de sac today. My little red Prius rolled quietly through my sleepy neighbourhood. I headed for the river shore to watch the sun come up. Watching sunrise over the North Thompson River is one of my greatest early morning pleasures. 

July 27 is a significant day in my life. My Mother's mother was born on this day in 1895 in Port Haney, British Columbia, Canada.( She would be 121 today, but passed away at age 94.)That place cannot be found on a map these days. It's now called Maple Ridge. Olive Mary Alexander was the daughter of John and Sarah Alexander, farming people close to the Fraser River, east of Vancouver. I'm sure she watched many sunrises there too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.