carliewired

By carliewired

Skirting the Rain Storm

A drive on Sunday
over wet country roads to
find hidden treasure

~ carliewired


We were off in the truck after lunch. I held my camera on my lap so I didn't miss anything. All around the clouds swirled and dropped rain in the valleys. 

Our first encounter was the California Bighorn Sheep. A herd was grazing in a farmer's field beside the road. A small band, including the leader, was across on the other side of the road. They had to negotiate traffic to join up in the field. 

It was a day for grazing in spite of the rain. We passed many horses and cattle. We noted that the cattle seemed oblivious to the downpour while horses seemed to find some cover when possible. 

We've had so much rain this summer that the wildflowers are in great numbers. They stand tall and bright along country roads. 

The big find today was the great grey owl. It was perched on a fence post near the road. It sat silently conjuring up something to eat, I'm sure. We stopped the truck and I got out to take my photos. It only swiveled its head around as they do but was quite undisturbed by us. 

We splashed through a lot of puddles on the back roads today. The truck is mud right up to the door handles. I will be at the car wash tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.