Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The next generation

I've been looking forward to today when I went to check the route we will be walking next Wednesday. It's my turn to lead a Wednesday walk.

I particularly enjoy walking in the wild, remote lands that are north of Hadrian's Wall. You rarely meet anyone on these walks and the views are very open. On the down side, it is open access land and notoriously boggy.  We had a lot of heavy rain in the last 24 hours.....

I set off from Steel Rigg. The car park was nearly full but most people were heading for the big view  of Hadrian's Wall, or to walk to Robin Hood's tree at Sycamore Gap.

Early in my route, I met a woman from Gloucestershire with her binoculars. She had realised that there would be too many people on the Wall Trail and come north to do some bird and butterfly watching. Then a couple staying in Rothbury on holiday, who had come for a walk in the area.

They were all given information about the Walking Festival (of course).

From then on my companions were suckler herds, sheep and birds. After the first two very easy miles, the going got a lot tougher. I met a small herd of Galloways, who always congregate beside a gate I needed to open. They are very docile and let me through.

Around Broomlee Lough, it was fairly boggy and then there was a climb up to Queens Crags and across towards Kings Crags. I remember the first walk I did to this area and I stood on Kings Crags and marvelled a the view towards Scotland.

I spent quite  a long time clambering about in bog, and have a better route for Wednesday.

At Stell Green the Murrays - grandfather, son and grandson - were dosing the lambs. The sheep were outside the sheep stell and making a lot of fuss. The lambs were also shouting. What a noise. What do farm children do in the holidays? I don't think they get bored! This young man likes farming.

Mr Murray senior saw that the bull was just beyond my next gate and he sent it on its way. The bull and I had quite a long walk in each other's company as I headed west again (see extra). He was heading for his herd. I was heading for the forest.

The forest appeard to be in the wrong place. I must have remembered the route incorrectly. I checked the gps and realised that the section I was aiming for has been felled. This is not good news, because the forestry are not good at restoring footpaths.

I did find my way (eventually) and then the rain started. It belted down for about half and hour. It eased off and then there was a second dose. By the time I arrived back at Steel Rigg I felt as though I had done 14 miles rather than the 12.5 (ish) on the map.

It was a grand day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.