Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sunday in Hexham

There is a big food event on in Hexham this weekend and Beaumont Street is closed off to cars because all the stalls are there. I took Mum this morning. We were puzzled because the town was so quiet and we were even able to park in the Market Place. We were on the early side (for once).

We had a gentle stroll past all the stalls, sampled one or two foods, made a few purchases and chatted to stall holders. It was good to be there before the crowds arrived. As we left Hexham later, there was a queue of traffic coming in.

Outside the Abbey, the Corbyn supporters were setting up stall. From a distance, one could even have been the man himself. As I approached he greeted me by name. It was Phil, our festival archaeologist, who is leading a walk for us in the autumn. He wears a woolly hat on walks, so this fedora was a surprise.

The quartet were happy to be photographed and even moved their hats to remove dark shadows from their faces. (Just the sort of cooperative subjects I like!)

I continue to watch the UK politics open mouthed at the moment. I wonder if the Labour party will split, given that there is such strong support for Jeremy from the rank and file and such animosity towards him from fellow MPs. It's hard to understand. The role of the media in all this is a puzzle too.

Home for lunch, then Neil came to collect a few photographs I'd prepared for an exhibition in Bellingham next week.

Time for a rest I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.